Profile

Book and editorial design, typography and print production support for exhibition catalogues, art books, monographs, book series, magazines and business reports . concepts and graphic design for identities, exhibitions, posters and business reports . development of typographical specifications and templates for scholarly publications and periodicals

On design

A critical engagement with the visual arts and collaborations with artists, curators, authors and scholars are fundamental to my work. Practical experience is here linked with a fascination for the new and the playful.

Graphic design is neither about providing a service pure and simple, nor is it a matter of free-ranging artistic creativity. It is done for something and someone, and emerges at the time and in the place where I live. So design is always in a state of flux.

Nevertheless, book design above all is something that even today rests on a tradition of craftsmanship and on aesthetic approaches from previous centuries. At the same time, the digital revolution means that the career of the typesetter has been absorbed completely by that of the graphic designer. For me as a designer, this means I have to transport the rules of typography into the present, independent of their original parameters such as lead type and letterpress printing. But even in the digital world, typography follows more or less the same rules as before, because the physical facts of human sight and perception do not change so quickly.

After a period of experimentation and of Anything Goes in the 1980s and ’90s, a new sense of seriousness emerged. But it was always accompanied by a sense of uncertainty as to how reading would develop in these times of “locust swarms of print”, as Walter Benjamin put it already in 1928.

Design is always also an act of interpretation. As a designer, it is my task to assume responsibility for content and to operate with the graphic possibilities at my disposal in a goal-oriented, intelligent manner. And here I act as a thinking person who can justify formal decisions on grounds of content.

Despite all analyses, however, there remains a residue that is inexplicable, but that is just as important. Why something looks good and functions well is something that can never be wholly explained in words and numbers. Or, to quote Willberg and Forssman, “Good typography can’t be calculated”.

Biography

Stephan Fiedler

Stephan Fiedler – born 1963 in Stuttgart, studied art at the Academy of Visual Arts in Munich and communication design with Volker Küster and László Lakner at the Gesamthochschule Essen (Folkwang), being awarded his degree with distinction in 1993.

Worked for several years at the printmaking studio of Karl Imhof in Munich.

In 1991 Fiedler went on a six-month employment with Limestone Press, San Francisco. Since 1994 he has worked as a freelance graphic designer in Berlin. From 1996 to 2006 he shared a studio with Peanutz architects and worked with the graphic designer Thorsten Platz under the label all&slothrop.

Numerous collaborations with artists, curators and graphic designers. Since 2001 he has taught communication design and typography at the Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin (HTW).

References

  • Akademie der Künste, Berlin
  • Biennale di Venezia
  • Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern
  • Deutsches Technikmuseum, Berlin
  • Edizioni Periferia, Luzern
  • Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin
  • Hatje Cantz Verlag, Ostfildern
  • Haus der Kunst, München
  • Haus Konstruktiv, Zürich
  • Hirmer Verlag, München
  • Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg
  • Kerber Verlag, Bielefeld/Leipzig
  • Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut, Essen
  • Kunsthalle Bremen
  • Kunsthaus Zug
  • Kunstmuseum Bern
  • Kunstmuseum Luzern
  • Marta Herford
  • Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Genetik, Berlin
  • Menil Collection, Houston
  • Museum Europäischer Kulturen, Berlin
  • Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Siegen
  • Museum für Kommunikation, Bern
  • Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin
  • Neue Gesellschaft für Bildende Kunst, Berlin
  • Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterrreich, Linz
  • Only Photography, Berlin
  • Robert Koch-Institut, Berlin
  • Sammlung Annette und Peter Nobel, Zürich
  • Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt am Main
  • Snoeck Verlag, Köln
  • Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus, München
  • Topoi Excellence Cluster, Berlin
  • Verlag für moderne Kunst, Nürnberg
  • Zeitschrift für Medienwissenschaft (ZfM)

Imprint

Copyright © 2015 Stephan Fiedler. All rights reserved..

Legal information

Copyright All rights reserved. All texts, photos, graphics and the order thereof are subject to copyright and all other laws for the protection of intellectual property. They may not be copied for trading or for passing on to third parties, nor may they be changed and used on other websites. Some of my internet sites contain pictures that are subject to the copyright of others whose permission to use them has been obtained.

Guarantee I make the information available without any guarantee or assurance of any kind, whether implicitly or tacitly. Also any tacit guarantees as to the marketability, the suitability for particular purposes or the non-violation of laws and patents are excluded.

Cautionary note Despite careful checks I do not accept any responsibility for the contents of external links. The operators of the linked internet sites are exclusively responsible for their contents.

Profil

Grafische Gestaltung, Satz und Produktionsbegleitung von Ausstellungskatalogen, Kunstbüchern, Monografien, Buchreihen, Magazinen und Geschäftsberichten . Konzeption und grafische Umsetzung von Erscheinungsbildern, Ausstellungsdesign, Plakaten und Geschäftsausstattungen . Entwicklung typografischer Vorgaben und Satzvorlagen für wissenschaftliche Publikationen und Periodika

Über Gestaltung

Die Auseinandersetzung mit bildender Kunst und die Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlerinnen, Kuratoren, Autorinnen und Wissenschaftlern sind elementar für meine Arbeit. Darin verbindet sich praktische Erfahrung mit dem Interesse an Neuem und am Spiel.

Grafische Gestaltung ist weder pure Dienstleistung noch ungebundenes Kunstschaffen. Sie geschieht für etwas und jemanden und entsteht in der Zeit und an dem Ort, an dem ich lebe. Design ist also stetig im Wandel.

Dennoch baut vor allem die Buchgestaltung auch heute noch auf handwerklicher Tradition und Ästhetik voriger Jahrhunderte auf. Zugleich wurde der Beruf des Schriftsetzers durch die digitale Revolution vollständig von dem des Grafikdesigners absorbiert. Daraus ergibt sich für mich als Gestalter die Notwendigkeit, die Regeln der Lesetypografie losgelöst von ihren ursprünglichen Parametern wie etwa Bleisatz und Buchdruck in die Gegenwart zu transportieren. Typografie folgt aber auch in der digitalen Welt mehr oder weniger denselben Regeln, da sich die physikalischen Gegebenheiten des menschlichen Sehens und Wahrnehmens nicht so rasant verändern.

Nach einer Zeit der Experimente und des Anything Goes der 80er und 90er Jahre ist eine neue Ernsthaftigkeit eingetreten, immer von einem Gefühl der Unsicherheit begleitet, in welche Richtung sich das Lesen in Zeiten der «Heuschreckenschwärme von Schrift», wie es Walter Benjamin schon 1928 wahrnahm, entwickeln wird.

Gestaltung ist immer auch Interpretation. Als Designer habe ich den Anspruch, Verantwortung für Inhalte zu übernehmen und mit den grafischen Möglichkeiten zielgerichtet und intelligent zu operieren. Dabei verstehe ich mich als denkender Mensch, der formale Entscheidungen inhaltlich begründen kann.

Trotz aller Analyse bleibt jedoch ein unerklärbarer Rest, der ebenso wichtig ist. Warum etwas gut aussieht und funktioniert, ist nie ganz mit Worten und Zahlen zu fassen. Oder, um es mit Willberg und Forssman zu sagen: «Gute Typografie kann man nicht ausrechnen.»

Biografie

Stephan Fiedler

Stephan Fiedler – geboren 1963 in Stuttgart, studierte Kunst an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München und Kommunikationsdesign an der Gesamthochschule Essen (Folkwang) bei Volker Küster und László Lakner (Diplom mit Auszeichnung 1993).

Mehrjährige Mitarbeit im druckgrafischen Atelier von Karl Imhof, München.

1991 sechsmonatige Tätigkeit bei Limestone Press, San Francisco. Seit 1994 als freiberuflicher Grafikdesigner in Berlin. Von 1996 bis 2006 Ateliergemeinschaft mit dem Berliner Grafiker Thorsten Platz unter dem Label all&slothrop.

Zahlreiche Kooperationen mit Künstlern, Kuratoren und Grafikern. Seit 2012 Lehrtätigkeit im Studiengang Kommunikationsdesign an der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin.

Referenzen

  • Akademie der Künste, Berlin
  • Biennale di Venezia
  • Bundesamt für Kultur, Bern
  • Deutsches Technikmuseum, Berlin
  • Edizioni Periferia, Luzern
  • Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin
  • Hatje Cantz Verlag, Ostfildern
  • Haus der Kunst, München
  • Haus Konstruktiv, Zürich
  • Hirmer Verlag, München
  • Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg
  • Kerber Verlag, Bielefeld/Leipzig
  • Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut, Essen
  • Kunsthalle Bremen
  • Kunsthaus Zug
  • Kunstmuseum Bern
  • Kunstmuseum Luzern
  • Marta Herford
  • Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Genetik, Berlin
  • Menil Collection, Houston
  • Museum Europäischer Kulturen, Berlin
  • Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Siegen
  • Museum für Kommunikation, Bern
  • Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin
  • Neue Gesellschaft für Bildende Kunst, Berlin
  • Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterrreich, Linz
  • Only Photography, Berlin
  • Robert Koch-Institut, Berlin
  • Sammlung Annette und Peter Nobel, Zürich
  • Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt am Main
  • Snoeck Verlag, Köln
  • Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus, München
  • Topoi Excellence Cluster, Berlin
  • Verlag für moderne Kunst, Nürnberg
  • Zeitschrift für Medienwissenschaft (ZfM)

Impressum

Copyright © 2015 Stephan Fiedler. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Rechtlicher Hinweis

Urheberrecht Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Alle Texte, Fotos, Grafiken sowie ihre Anordnung unterliegen dem Urheberrecht und anderen Gesetzen zum Schutz geistigen Eigentums. Sie dürfen weder für Handelszwecke oder zur Weitergabe kopiert, noch verändert und auf anderen Websites verwendet werden. Einige meiner Internetseiten enthalten auch Bilder, die dem Urheberrecht derjenigen unterliegen, die diese zur Verfügung gestellt haben.

Gewährleistung Die Informationen stelle ich ohne jegliche Zusicherung oder Gewährleistung jedweder Art, sei sie ausdrücklich oder stillschweigend, zur Verfügung. Ausgeschlossen sind auch alle stillschweigenden Gewährleistungen betreffend die Handelsfähigkeit, die Eignung für bestimmte Zwecke oder den Nichtverstoß gegen Gesetze und Patente.

Haftungsausschluss Trotz sorgfältiger inhaltlicher Prüfung übernehme ich keine Haftung für die Inhalte externer Links. Für den Inhalt der verlinkten Seiten sind ausschließlich deren Betreiber verantwortlich.